APRIL 24, 2020 CUSTOMER MEETING POSTPONED! The health and safety of our customers and employees is our highest priority. After careful consideration, we are postponing our Customer Meeting. In light of the ongoing COVID-19, the rescheduled date has not been determined. 800-261-7114 308-254-5871 Thank you all for your patience during these trying times!


Organizational Meeting

Cheyenne County Rural Electrification Assn.

March 31, 1941


(Taken in part from the original minutes.)

Persons interested in Rural Electrification met in the Legion room of the city auditorium at Sidney.  Mr. George Phillips, Manager of Pine Bluffs R.E.A. Cooperative, told the history of the R.E.A. and Miss. Elenor Wilson, R.E.A fieldwoman from Washington, D.C., and Mr. Walter Phelan, attorney from Cheyenne, gave talks and answered questions.


Thirty-six people voted in favor of forming a temporary organization and elected Art Borcher chairman, Louis Miller secretary, and Etheline Swanson treasurer.


One person from each precinct was appointed to a committee to contact persons in their precinct and neighborhood and explain the R.E.A program and collect membership fees ($5.00):


Precinct                         Committeeman                                 Precinct                         Committeeman

Gurley                           Ross Handley                                    Colton                            H. Courtney

Davison                         Raymond Pelster                                Union Valley                    Clyde Beof

Trognitz                         Ed Ericson                                         Eagle                             Luke Chichester

Lodgepole                      Wayne Bond                                      Pleasant View                  A. Shubarta

Bunker Hill                     Paul Meyer                                        Potter                            George Coulter

Huntsman                      Louis Miller                                        Garden                          D. D. Kastens

Bronson                         Harry Anderson                                  Deuel                            Joe Lindley

Chambers                       Ed Nelson                                         Banner                          Joe Larson

Lorenzo                          Ed Meyers                                        Peetz                            Anton Nelson

Sidney                           Ralph Laffler


At a meeting of committee members on August 9, 1941, Art Borcher reported that the Rural Electric Association of Pine Bluffs had voted to accept the Cheyenne County Rural Electrification Association as an extension to their company.  He also reported that 358 farmers had signed applications and that 396 miles of line had been mapped out.


(Excerpts from recollections of Mrs. Theo. Smith)

“It was shortly after this that the war broke out and everything was stopped for the duration.  After the war, when material was again available, it seemed to us that Pine Bluffs was doing all the work on the west end of their system and we on this end were standing by anxiously waiting, but nothing would happen.  I also think that Pine Bluffs was sorry of the annexing.  So after various meetings, we voted to dissolve membership.  So now we had to start all over again.”

Wheat Belt Electric Membership Association

August 28, 1946

“So now we had a name, board members, no money and no members.  So we first had to negotiate for aid, and hire a manager.  Also a place of business had to be found.  Mr. Abe Moore was chosen as manager and a little white house, one block south and half a block east of the main intersection was our first office.”  (938 Jackson St, Sidney)  


Board of Directors….

            Arthur Borcher, President

            Theodore Smith, Vice President

            Harold Spiker, Secretary – Treasurer

            Gus Scheele

            Emery Horrum

            Herbert Linn

            Anton Nelson

            Arnold Peeks

            George Zimmerman

(Mr. Spiker advanced $200 to defray initial expenses – to be repaid as soon as funds became available.)


Wheat Belt one year later (August 1947):

                                            319          Consumers

                                       390,264          kWh Sold

                                    $6,480.99          Revenue

                                    $   512.00          Payroll (3 employees)

                                    $   165.27          Expenses


The first lines constructed by Wheat Belt were energized in October, 1948.  It was also that same month and year that the building and land at 2104 Illinois Street was purchased at auction for $29,450 from A.S. and Clare Hardy.


Wheat Belt becomes a Public Power District.  The first meeting of the Wheat Belt Public Power District was held on December 7, 1954, and the rest, as they say….. is history.



Wheat Belt Board of Directors 1950:  Seated: Ted Smith, Vice President; Harold Spiker,Secretary-Treasurer; WayneBond, President; Arnold Peeks; Anton Nelson; George Zimmerman. Standing: Raymond Weed; Thad Patrick; Maurice Konkel, Attorney;Charles Ham, General Manager; John Hornicek.