APRIL 24, 2020 CUSTOMER MEETING POSTPONED! The health and safety of our customers and employees is our highest priority. After careful consideration, we are postponing our Customer Meeting. In light of the ongoing COVID-19, the rescheduled date has not been determined. 800-261-7114 308-254-5871 Thank you all for your patience during these trying times!

Service areas

Wheat Belt's service territory covers approximately 3,600 square miles of the southern portion of the Nebraska panhandle. Parts of seven counties are served - Banner, Morrill, Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden, Keith and Arthur. The communities of Sunol, Gurley, Dalton, Lorenzo and Redington are supplied by Wheat Belt PPD. Within the service area the towns of Broadwater, Lisco, Oshkosh, Lodgepole, Lewellen and Big Springs, are supplied energy by NPPD (Nebraska Public Power District), Sidney and Chappell are members of the MEAN (Municipal Energy Association of Nebraska). The Wheat Belt PPD main office is located in Sidney, Nebraska: two outposts are located in the towns of Dalton and Oshkosh.

As of December 2017, Wheat Belt has 158 miles of transmission line, 2,203 miles of overhead distribution and another 160 miles of underground distribution.  The load is divided into 1984 rural and town residential services, 1,255 seasonal residential, 999 irrigation accounts, 660 small commercials (under one MVA) and 13 industrial accounts (over one MVA).

In 2017, kWh sales totaled 152.35 million with revenues of over $18.7 million.  Wheat Belt's winter peak is approximately 20.6 MW while the summer peak was 52.4 MW, a direct result of our irrigation load.  The total billed horsepower for irrigation is approximately 67,500.